My system got screwed when I tried to uninstall norton 2003. Last Friday, I came home and decided to surf the net for GCC compilerand network programming resources. But When I switched on my system which has Windows Xp professional (Service Pack2) as primary OS, I was reminded by Norton that my subscription had expired for Norotn 2003. It had expired on 31st January and was reluctant enough to do somethig for that. I decided to un-install it and install a new copy of Norton 2005. Here begins my ordeal :(
I was unsing bit torrent at that moment. I checked in system tray for download speed and it showed 12kbps. I felt good and opened bit torrent to check how much time it is showing for download. I was downloading a movie named Rainman. To my amazement, The torrent listed there was not at all getting downloaded. I was stuck. I checked again in syatem tray icon and it still showed 12kbps. I knew something creepy was going on and I immediately topped bit torrent by exiting it. I knew that some malware/spyware or virus must have been downloaded on my system. In a hurry I again installed Norton 2003. It detected a virus which was new so as happens, it showed me W32.BloodHound. It failed to delete the file and sent that into quarantine. By this time I had unplugged my LAN cable. I decided to go for Norton 2005 as soon as I can. I unistalled Norton 2003 and the files were still in quarantine. I installed a fresh copy of Norton 2005 and then I rebooted my system. As I plugged my LAN cable my system went down with the infamous BSOD error :(
It flagged 0x0A error and the message was DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL.
I was getting irritated and helpless ast the same time. I was clueless as to what happened? I noted down all the error messages ans rebooted with Linux FC5 (I have this also on my system). With Linux the system worked fine and I was able to access internet and LAN from it. I searched google and after lot of research I came to conlucison that I cant find specific answers :) I knew it has something to do with Network as the system went down when I plugged LAN cable. I did a safe boot and then searched for any changed device drivers or hardware device missing. But I could not find any issue. I removed the LAN cable and did a reboot with WInXp. I searched my PATCH folders and saw a file there which was Symantec client security pacth. I thought may be this went missing with uninstall of Norton 2003 and installing it again will fix the problem. I installed this patch. but as usual nothign happened after that also. The only thing chaged after that was the error code on BSOD. Now I started getting 0x7E error with no driver or file mentioned there :(
I spent two helpless nights trying to figure up n fix the problem but I have failed to fix the issue. I even repaired my windows installataion but that also failed to fix the problem :(
Now I am going to do a fresh installation today by formatting C:/ coz after yesterdays repair the system happens to got screwed more as I am not able to open task manager, see device manager settings and many more admin options even after being logged in from admin account !
Seriously windows sucks. They dont know what was the exact cause of error! They dont tell you what are the possible bugs beforehand! They dont tell you what caused the system to behave that way. What they just do is give you 4-5 different things which may have happened and its you who is supposed to figure it up now.
To hell MS!
I will and am going to contribute something for Open Source and Linux instead of working at MS now! Its no more a dream for me to work for MS, until and unless the philosphy changes at MS. It will be more sotthing for my conscience to work for IBM/SUN/GOOGLE as dream company. But one things for sure I will contribute in every way possible for everything thats related to GPL and OSF.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment