Sunday, August 05, 2007

Friendship Day!

The First Sunday of August is Friendship Day! I wanted to have good memories of this day this year but unfortunately I had a huge row over phone with the person I consider my best friend and who means the world for me! I am saying "I consider" coz I dont know whether I am best for her or not!
She was more concerned about the new person in her life!

As a topping on the fateful day, I was challaned for jumping red light. It was my fault but not entirely. The yellow light wasnt working, the timer wasnt working and it suddenly turned red and the traffic cops were not in mood to let me go, no matter whatever crap is going in the lights and timer! So as per the UP govt laws, my license was taken by them and I was handled the challana receipt. I aksed the cop that cant i pay the amount here and take back my license? He said no! Even after pleading he said the licenxe will have to be collected from SP office in Sector 6. Then I asked can I get it back on Monday then? He said "NO". Since it's UP and iot's worst managed state, I guess, so you will have to come back after 1 week! It amused me. I aksed why 1 week? Why cant you submit it tommorow and I will pay ther fine and collect it back in the evening? But he was not giving in! What kind of law or system is this??
I will never understand it, I guess!

Monday, July 30, 2007

Credited Back!

Yippee,
Remember how made such a hue and cry on literally being duped of those 785 at the Petrol Pump! So the rest of story is like this.
After having called at the ICICI call center, I was sure that I am not going to get the money back anyhow. Since the person on the other side had told me that nothing can be done now and had asked me to deal with the petrol pump in this matter! Whew! Now I know, one should not believe them always! After some days of that phone call, I decided to write to ICICI Bank on their help desk email id. I was under the impression that I will get a similar kind of response telling me that my money cant be refunded and all that stuff. But to my surprise, I got a good reply 2-3 days later to that. They had explained me the whole process behind the swipe card funda at retail outlets. The email told me a way to claim my money. They told me that if Mastercard (my card issuer) doesont claims the amount in 30 days, the amount will be credited back in my account! They told me that, if the petrol pump people did not had a receipt at all then they cant send it to Mastercard, who in turn cant claim from ICICI and so the amount which at the repsent moment has been debited from my account will be credited back! I was not so sure of this. Actually not sure that the petrol pump didn.t had the receipt. Anyways, they also had given me an alternative in case of amount is claimed by MasterCard. They had said that I need to write a letter to the bank explaining what happened and then the bank will try to get it settled from MasterCard people, if they do agree. However, this was just being done for the matter of addressing customer and didn't guaranteed result! But I was happy that at least the bank is ready to do this much!
So on 27th of this month, the amount was finally credited back to my account, without writing a letter! Well, after so many bad experiences with ICICI, I had a good experience to count!

Sunday, July 29, 2007

Ungrateful!

This was long time due! Actually, lately I am not feeling well. I have got a backache which is troubling me now from sometime. I dont know the reason, maybe my matress is to be blamed or may be my long hours in office before computer (wrong postures, I almost slid myself). this prevents me from sitting at my comp back in flat as my comp still lies on ground :P . I havent bought a table and chair. I had even actually borrowed 5000 bucks from mom n dad in early september last year to buy one but I never hurried up and spent the money somewhere else! Anyways, this was the explanation part. Leave it. Lets hit the subject!

People, in today's world are so ungrateful! I dont know what makes them behave so, but whatever the reason be, it's leading to a world full of people who are ready to use you and as soon as they are done with you, they will slit your throat! Maybe this is exagerration, but they will forget you! This happens every time with me! I was duped, thrown by many of my friends. Well, when I say friends, I considered them to be friend but maybe they never had that feeling in their heart, which I am sure one of the person never had!

So how do you define Ungrateful? A person who shows no gratitude. So what is gratitude? Gratitude in literal sense means "showing appreciation or a feeling of thankfulness". This is what I mean to say when I say that people are not at all grateful. I dont want them to boast of me or to come running after me everytime! Comeone, I am not such a dirty and lousy soul! I also admire appreciation and thankfulness. That's it.

A person who has figured a lot many times in my Life's story so far after college started for me has been the most ungrateful person I ever seen by now. He has despised at many a times yet time and again I forgot everything and helped him in someways or was with him when he felt alone! This person was a good friend of me in college and in 4th semester he showed his conceited nature for the very first time. I was taken back! I took time in forgetting everything and again was having good terms with him. Then our friendship, kind of gathered momentum. We became really good friends. But again, after all the nature can't be changed. He started hitting in blows minor and severe at times. I felt bad and kept ignoring at times. The funny thing was people held so high of him! I am puzzled when I think of many things he did and many times he went ahead and spoke something more than he was supposed to! Never mind! In the last semester he left his project group mid-way to go for company internship. A decision I had always hated! Why? Coz, you dont dump you project group in mid-way. Such actions speak highly of your character and how much one can depend on you! People dint loathed him! they loved him for that :) Towards the end of college he had stopped talking to me. That went for almost till 3-4 months after which somehow, I dont remember how, the talks started. He used to speak a lot against the girl I loved most. I used to refute him and close the discussion. Never I denounced his girlfriend or said anything against her in his face, which was so easy to do coz she was not an angel after all! But I never did so. I have never learnt such things! So it was October, when my mom came to visit me here. His mom also had come to see him. Then their favored and much loved auto walah did a nuisance which irked me a lot! They dint even left my mother in treachery! Again when my mom went, the talks ended. He never called back, never replied to one or two mails. I also snapped all ties. Then I guess talks again started somehow, I dont remember. My relationship was getting screwed and it has virtually ended with the best friend of mine, she was not meeting, calling, mailing, scrapping or even replying to me. Anyways, so this person was living with another college mate of ours who was alos a friend of mine. This person happened to go onsite on his project and his flat mate shifted out of his place. Their house lease was not renewed and he was alone and had to vacate his house as soon as he came back. It was heard that he will be going back to onsite after one month, once he reaches India. I offered him to put his luggage at my flat and then take a flat only after he comes from his second trip. He declined and insited that he will take a flat and lock up his luggage their. It turned out that the flat he had rented was in messy condition when he reached here! So He landed up at my flat and then I helped him in vacating his flat and shifting his entire belongings to the flat on one of our friend's flat. He came to stay at my house till he was here. he was with me in my flat. Then he went to his hometown and after that he came back to my flat. On the day he had to leave for Onsite again he met with an unfortunate accident! It was serious one and he was hospitalized. I had rushed to see him leaving my meetings and work. We got him shifted to a good hospital form the initial place he was rushed to. I was doing everything possible like a maniac, consoling his mother and father at times over phone, informing every friend I can and checking that things are done well in the registration and all that formality stuff at the big hospital. Their parents arrived that night only. For days I used to be at the hospital sitting downstairs to be available for any need. I helped his parents in getting used to place, consoling them, getting accomodation to a friend's house which was just beside the hospital. On the second night I even slept at the hospital, thinking there might be some emergency! After that till he was there, I used to visit as often as I could. When he was dischareged from hospital, he and his parents came to stay with me for 3 days. They stayed here and they left for their home! One of our friends had helped a lot. This person was doing good in recovery. When he reached his hometown he never called me back or the another friend who had helped a lot! Not even his parents thanked him even once, leave me! Well, very well! He called me the day when he was to return back, informing about his arrival. I was a bit angry and amused. He came with his mother this time. The day he came back he insited that he has to search a flat. Well, I took him on my bike in the heat of afternoon and we went to shipra and other places around here and then went to a lot of places in NOIDA. I was helping him out. After 4 days he got a flat and he shifted on thursday and he dint even called me that he is leaving my flat today! :) Form the day he went, he never called me again! He lives very near my place but he has never cared to come to my place or even to call me! Such an ungrateful perosn he is. Yet, people held him so high! I even went to his flat 3 times, I guess. But he never invited mne to his nor ever came to mine. In a way he has stopped talking to me after his purpose was served!
Well such are the people in this world!

Saturday, June 30, 2007

Hungry!

I am hungry :( The last time I had food was yesterday afternoon at around 1:40 PM and since then I havent had any thing excpet banana chips and a Real Juice. Its almost 25 hours since that!

Saturday, June 23, 2007

Its Weekend :(

For most of us, Weekends are a time to enjoy. Most of the people around me wait for weekend. They have so much in plan, so much places to hit, so much things to do, so much to talk to their chosen ones :)
I am different! I hate weekends. This was not always the case. It started after something happened to me! I get bored like hell as I have nothing to do except wash clothes and do some weekly cleaning stuff in my room! After that its me and my vague thoughts. Those monsters who start pursuing me and haunt me to disturb the peace of mind, which I try to attain. Since I am all alone (virtually) here, that kills me more. The net connection in my flat sucks. I hardly manage to download some stuff now-a-days.

So what I did today? I woke up at 0730 and then got myself ready by 0900 hrs after the usual stuff. I rushed to the petrol pump (My last post) to get things done. I reached there at 0930 and talked to the guys there, they denied any such thing and showed me some documents (credit card bill receipts) and tried to prove that I hadn't paid twice. I showed them my ATM receipt and credit card receipt. But nothing happened and I had to leave from there! So I lost 785 finally! :(

I was confused as hell. I had to register myself for correspondence course at CL today. I parked my bike in parking (the place I always park) and started roaming here and there. I was confused and some vague thought had came to me that should I even go for an MBA? I looked at my watch. It was 10:15. I looked all around me ... all of the shops were closed. I was feeling hungry but since everything was closed, I had to forget that I am hungry :) I started walking towards CL center. I saw ICICI bank in my way and decided to look for my debit card, ( the grid based card, which no one knows where it is :) ) . I entered the bank and took the service slip and waited for my turn. As I was sitting there, someone called my name from behind. I turned around and saw Yuvraj smiling. I waved to him and went to his seat and sat beside him. After exchange of wishes, he told me that he had came to get this debit card. By the way, Yuvraj is my colleague and we are in same Team. his number came and he went to the desk. I kept sitting there. I looked around and there were few people around and the bank was looking cool n calm. It was a pleasant sight. Otherwise the scene is like a fishmarket! Yuvraj came back and said that he will have to call customer care and they will do the job. I wished him bye and he left. I was wating for my turn. After another 15 minutes, my request number was flashed on the monitor and I was supposed to go to counter 18. I went there and told the lady sitting there, my problem. She looked into her records and said that debit card of mine cant be tracked! She told me to wait and they will issue me an instant visa debit card. I waited for another 5 minutes and then I was asked to go to counter 16. I went there with my DL as an ID proof. The person sitting here got a xerox of that and handed me my new card. He said that the new card will be activated within 48 hrs. I left the bank and went to ATM look into my account. Then I again gave a thought to MBA thing. I remembered that I had to go to CL center and enquire about correspondence thing. I went to the center reluctantly and some lady told me about the details. I told her that I will come again today with cash :) I had lied. I was not in a mood to come again. Anyways I left the place and drove my bike and came home by 1100 hrs. I was feeling very hungry. I changed and then had the lunch! I switched on my PC and started the movie We are Marshall . It was a one time watch. Not interesting. Felt like am seeing a bad copy of Remember the Titans. I was feeling lonely and was missing her badly :( I called Saurabh instead. He was in office and I asked to meet me after he gets done with his work. He told that he will meet near 1800 hrs. I again started looking in my PC aimlessly :D
Around 1400 hrs, Saurabh called me and told me that he is coming now coz he was not feeling like working in office. I decided to wash my clothes by the time he comes. I washed all of them and hanged them for drying in my balcony. Saurabh came after a while. We talked and then I asked about her. He refused to tell me anything. I asked him that has she gone home? He dint told anything :( We started talking on diverse topics. I told him about the MBA thing and he said that I must go for it. Then we started talking about India, Indians and related stuff on developement. We compared India with other coutries and wondered why India still lags behind too much! Then he asked me about his discs. I hadnt burned them as of yet :P
I started showing him the movies I had on my PC and he told me to burn The Departed.I started the burn process and we started watching Saving Private Ryan. After the burn process was completed it was 1730 hrs and we decided to leave for Shipra Mall. We were feeling hungry and so we decided to have something before hanging around :D We went to Bite Inn and as we took chairs, Saurabh saw Priya and Aunty. We went to them and wished them. They asked us to join them. We agreed and went to order. After a lot of scouting we decided on Paneer Lababdar and Kadahi Paneer (Surprisingly no food joint had chhole-bhature that time, we wanted that!). By that time Priya and Aunty had finished their food. Priya wanted an Icecream and so I told her to have it donwstairs in McD and we will join her there. Our food came and we finished it and went downstairs. I decided to go for a Soft Serve Cone. Priya wasnt around. I called her up and she said that she was in Reliance Digital. Me n Saurabh decided to sit outside and we told her to join us there. She answered affirmative. Saurabh and I sat there and started talking. I was speaking and speaking and he was not answering me. I kept on. I felt very low, as her thoughts were hitting me :( I felt like crying and so I rushed to the washroom. I regained my composure and came back. Priya hasnt came yet. We kept talking on things. Actually I kept on saying and he kept on listening. After some time, Priya called me and said that she will be joining us in another 10 minutes as she was waiting for uncle to pick aunty. After 15-20 minutes she came. We talked on a lot of stuff..same governement stuff...inefiicient management...inefficient people..office stuff...n then career and related. She told about her elder sis. We wondered how true some dialogues of Swades were. That discussion will mcome in a separate blog :) Bakul called on Saurabh's cell and I said just a Hi to her. She talked to Saurabh and Priya. I didnt knew that she has reached home! It was a surprise to me when Priya had tolde me in Bite Inn that she had left for home. After the call, we again talked for another hour, I guess. Then Priya asked us to come over to her society as Vinay is waiting there. We decided to go there. Priya and Saurabh took an auto rickshaw and I got my bike.

I reached before them :D We decided to have some water in Priya's home and then come downstairs and sit in the park. We went upstairs and met uncle aunty there. We had watemelon after glass of water :). There I saw school magazine of Priya's school. I saw a photo of Priya and Bakul in their class group photo. It was of 2000 and they were in 10th. vinay had called Priya and so we ran down after finishing that yummy watermelon. Thanks Priya for that :D

Vinay was waiting there. I sat on the swing and moved myself slowly on that :) Priya was swinging in full speed :) We started the talk and we discussed old movies, Boobna, College days (We all missed them :( ), parties, people, Mithun's movies and his superhuman efforts :D. And yes, we discussed about Rajnikant and Shivaji :) And we remembered that song of Jitendra "Dhal gaya Din , Dhal gayi shaam". Hehe, such a funny song

I looked on my watch and it was 2230 and so I decided to leave with Saurabh. I came to my flat, took Saurabh's bag and dropped him till Camp. And then I came back, changed and switched on the PC and wrote this.

Now I am gonna sleep :)

Bye Bye and Good night.

Friday, June 22, 2007

They Duped me!

Yesternight, I rushed from office at 2125 hrs. I was working with Alok on a bug for the last 90 minutes and had finally cracked the reason, got the flow of the code and the intended functionality. I had modified the code and tested on small pieces of data. We were about to run it for a large set of data, when it flashed in my memory that my bike is running in reserve mode! I had to take fuel and it was almost 9:30. I take fuel from a fuel station in Mayur Vihar, Delhi. The pump is named Image Filling Station. I told Alok about the same and rushed to the pump station with two fears running in parallel mode inside me! One was that the station may be closed by the time I reach (its 15 minutes ride frmo my office); the other that I may run out of the remaining fuel en route!
However none of my fears came true and I reached the pump station well in time with fuel still in my tank. I always take a hichg Octane petrol for my bike. For some time, I am using Indian Oil's Xtra Premium, but before that I used to stick to Speed by Bharat Petroleum.
Anyways, I aksed the attendant to fill xtra premium. I will try to put in conversation mode:

Me: Xtra premium
Attendant: How much?
Me: Tank full
Attendant: I have 5 litres of petrol in a vessel which I had filled just now. Can i use that to fill your tank and then the rest I will give you from pump?
Me: No, I want it from the pump
Another attendant comes
Attendant 2: Sir, we ahve just now taken the fuel from pump and there's nothing wrong with it. Why dont you take that?
Me: I dont want that. Why dont you give me from the pump. Ask someone else.
I was getting annoyed
Attendant: Ok, See zero on the screen
Me: Ya, start filling it
Me: By what time this pump station is open?
Attendant: 2300 hrs
Me: I was rushing to the place as I thought that it might be open till 2200 hrs only.

I was looking onto the meter and it went to read 17.44 litres and cost was 785 ruppees. I clsoed the fueld lid and handed over my debit card to him.

Attendant: I have to charge 585. Isnt it?

I tried to be honest

Me: Its 785 and not 585. Do you wnat to give me a discount of 200!
Attendant: oh ya, its 785.

He swiped the card at a POS terminal lying there but nothing happened. I saw that mahcine from where I was sitting on my bike. It seemed to be unused. The enw attendant who had earlier appeared came over to the attendant and took the card from him and went towards another pump where there was another POS terminal which was active. I could see that it was active as that pump was for 4 wheelers and people were getting slips there. He went and then came back to me flagging the card.

Me: What happened?
Attendant 2: This is not working
Me: Not working! It didn't get charged?
Attendant 2: No

I was not having any cash with me and so I gave him my credit card. he took that and went again. I was amused that how come my debit card was not charged. However I didn't smelled any foul as I havent signed any receipt. I was under impression that unless you sign a receipt for debit card, you are in safe hands. I parked my bike beside the petrol tanker (it was standing there) and reached the place where that attendant 2 was standing

Me: What happened this time?
Attendant 2: This time its done.

He was holding the slips in his hand. I took them and signed and got my card n customer copy back. I came back to my bike. It was 2155 hrs. I started my bike and left. I reached home at around 2230 hrs.

I entered my room. Arjit n Pogo were not in the flat and Vikas's door was closed. I swittched on my PC and changed. I had dinner and by the time I finished it my cell beped. There was a SMS waiting for me. I wondered who may have sent me a SMS at this hour. I had changed my cell number last week and so was not expecting anything at this moment. My Heart thought that this SMS might be hers. I wondered how come whe got my new number? I picked my cell and the instantaneous elation in the heart vanished like anything. The SMS was from ICICI bank notifyin me that my debit card has been succesfully charged for 785 at Image Filling station! I was shocked. How come this happened? It took no time for understanding that I was forged at the station by the attendants. I immediately called on the number listed on debit card. The number was not working! I opened the website of ICICI bank and called on the customer care number. I went for option 4 wherein you can speak to some person on the phone. An automated voice came which notified me that this service is available only from 9 AM to 9 PM. I was helplessly getting frantic! I decided to shoot an email at once to customer care! I opened the site again and logged in my problem. After that, I switched off lights and decided to slip, knowing that nothing can be done now as it was a debit card and the amount in this case is credited at the instant in the other account! Suddenly I thought that the attendant might have given me the receipt for my debit card. I wished it to be true. I checked my wallet for the receipt. It was of my credit card :(
With a heavy heart, I inserted that back into my wallet and decide to call again in morning.

Today I reached office, finished with pending work on that bug I was working on last night. Then at 0945 hrs I called the customer care. The lady on the phone told me that nothing can be done from their side. I told her that I havent signed any receipt! She told me that, signing receipt is just a formality kind of thing for the bank. However, it is a certificate kind of thing for the shop owner that a purchase has been made and this much maount must be credited to his account. The amount is credited instantly! She asked me to fo the pump and argue with them! I was not in a mood to do that.

I am still thinking over that should I go once to the petrol pump and try to talk to the manager or who ever might be managing the pump. I will go in the evening after the office is over. I doubt if something will be done! I even doubt that some honest person will eb there to even listen to me!

I have left hope for the money. It is a lesson for me! Seen otherways, It is a price I paid for being honest in the first place. If I hadnt been honest I would have saved at least 200.

Thursday, June 21, 2007

After 4 months

It has been almost 4 months! Its getting harder for me to pen down my thoughts regularly. I always feel that I should scribble something but the laziness drags me hard. I had decided that I will be regular in updating all of my blogs, but here I stand to that. And the testimony is this 4 months.
Anyways, there was a lot which missed out, which happened in these months. Life has changed for a whole lot of reasons! Things chnaged, people and places too. There's more noise around me and the people around me are few. The mob is till there around me but people I treasured have dwindled in their numbers. They left for their reasons and I left some for some connected reasons.

The last time I wrote, I discussed about a book. This time also the focus should be on another masterpiece I went through. However, these two are on pole's end in their content, intended audience and the feel. Neverthless, They are masterpieces of literary work. This time, I read Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. I had heard a lot about this and had always wanted to read this. I had purchased this book in September 2006 and this was lying in my cupboard for more than 9 months. Finally this june I took it out and went through it non-stop. Its worth every penny you spend on purchasing an original copy frmo some bookstore. Its a book you will feel like underlining sentences and refer back to them at times. Worth reading and I will suggest every one to go through it.

Tuesday, February 27, 2007

Jerome David

Recently I got hold of one of the masterpieces by Jerome David Salinger, better known as J D Salinger. The book I am talking about is "The Catcher in the Rye". I had heard a lot about this book and had always wanted to own a copy of it. Neverthless, I had no idea about what it was all about. I even went to the bookshop and tried to purchase this book, but I had to postpone my decision as it was worth 500 INR or something and I was not loaded that much at that point of time. My flatmate, who is not such an avid reader but he is trying to be (lol) bought this book from a road side vendor. It was a second hand copy and not a pirated one, mind you. It was in perfect condition except one of the pages in the middle was torn a bit.
SO I was talking about this book. You know I got this book and started reading it and man it was unstoppable. It was like a flowing river, which has no intention of stopping. Moreover you were enjoying the flow and you never wanted it to come to a halt. Holden Caulfield, oh what an extraordinary portrayl of a character. The story was unfolding so smoothly and so detailed that it got a hold of you. I had finished half of it by the time I felt that I cant keep myself awake anymore as I had to be in office the next morning. Ya it was Sunday night.
The next thing I did was, the very next morning I searched every thing about J D Salinger, his work, his life and damn everything about the master storyteller.
I was amused to know that the author himself was so close to Holden, at least I think so. His life story was in itself a fascinating one and I would like to go for his biography kinda thing.
I downloaded all his short stories which he wrote and are available on net, And I got almost all of them. I am reading most of them and had almost completed them.
A serious suggestion for book lovers, go for it, if you havent.

Wednesday, January 31, 2007

Humming this song

We got this afternoon
You got this room for two
One thing I'd love to do
Discover me, discover you
One mile to every inch, your skin like porcelain

I'm so confused

Am I mature enough to handle this? What is maturity at the first place? What is expected behavior of a mature human being? Should I be mature or am I already mature.
If I am mature then shouldn't I grow more mature to handle this soggy situation. I cant decide whether I should talk or not? Whether I should give it a damn or not? Whether I should care or not? Whether I should still keep running or not?

Unanswered questions and unquestioned answers!

I think I am mature enough to handle this coz I hadnled this in a beautiful manner, but then even plastic breaks at the point of elasticity. I was forced to reach beyod the break point and I broke apart. Amazingly I collected myself again and again for hundred times, at least and then I was again broke and then I again held myself.

Maturity demands resilience, I guess. And I have this quality.

Every time you commit a mistake, same one, all over again and again and then when I speak up, you end up saying "theres nothing to shout!" But this happens every time, time and again, each and every day.

If maturity means closing eyes to everything then I may not be mature. And I wont be ever.

For me maturity means smiling even if you have hatred for me and blah blah. For you it means somethign else!

How can you expect the sweetness to return when you live with someone else 24x7. Do you expect some magic? If you expect then let me tell you theres nothing called magic here.

Birds of same feather flock together. Aint it? It is indeed. You have got some one of same feathers as you are. Flock together! Oh, Sorry, you already are :)
I thought we are of same feathers, but then one of us shed his/her feathers. You say its me, I say its you.

This leads to a vicious circle :)

Just a request to him, Why have you mentioned in your Orkut profile that "Its better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved". You have won all over. You were deemed to win, even before you started playing Idiot. Coz someone was always playing for you. I guess you must be having that level of maturity! See, same feathers philosophy leads me to this conclusion. So can I expect you to remove that from your profile?

And then people suppose me to pull out! Ridiculous, f***ing ridiculous.

You have got brilliant people in your work place an most of them are your new good friends. And you love being with them and expecially him.

I sont when I will grow to leave you completely. See this leads me to the fact that I am not that mature to leave it all behind in the dust. But then dont worry I wont start with someone else. I am not hungry for some parameters, mine was true love.

I know i will meet you years later on that expressway in US, where he and you will be driving (obviusly) and bump me from behind. And then I will see you with him and you will see me with none.

God bless you. Indirectly he is also blessed, nonetheless unwillingly

/\ \ <>

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

It all happened one bad night

My system got screwed when I tried to uninstall norton 2003. Last Friday, I came home and decided to surf the net for GCC compilerand network programming resources. But When I switched on my system which has Windows Xp professional (Service Pack2) as primary OS, I was reminded by Norton that my subscription had expired for Norotn 2003. It had expired on 31st January and was reluctant enough to do somethig for that. I decided to un-install it and install a new copy of Norton 2005. Here begins my ordeal :(
I was unsing bit torrent at that moment. I checked in system tray for download speed and it showed 12kbps. I felt good and opened bit torrent to check how much time it is showing for download. I was downloading a movie named Rainman. To my amazement, The torrent listed there was not at all getting downloaded. I was stuck. I checked again in syatem tray icon and it still showed 12kbps. I knew something creepy was going on and I immediately topped bit torrent by exiting it. I knew that some malware/spyware or virus must have been downloaded on my system. In a hurry I again installed Norton 2003. It detected a virus which was new so as happens, it showed me W32.BloodHound. It failed to delete the file and sent that into quarantine. By this time I had unplugged my LAN cable. I decided to go for Norton 2005 as soon as I can. I unistalled Norton 2003 and the files were still in quarantine. I installed a fresh copy of Norton 2005 and then I rebooted my system. As I plugged my LAN cable my system went down with the infamous BSOD error :(
It flagged 0x0A error and the message was DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL.
I was getting irritated and helpless ast the same time. I was clueless as to what happened? I noted down all the error messages ans rebooted with Linux FC5 (I have this also on my system). With Linux the system worked fine and I was able to access internet and LAN from it. I searched google and after lot of research I came to conlucison that I cant find specific answers :) I knew it has something to do with Network as the system went down when I plugged LAN cable. I did a safe boot and then searched for any changed device drivers or hardware device missing. But I could not find any issue. I removed the LAN cable and did a reboot with WInXp. I searched my PATCH folders and saw a file there which was Symantec client security pacth. I thought may be this went missing with uninstall of Norton 2003 and installing it again will fix the problem. I installed this patch. but as usual nothign happened after that also. The only thing chaged after that was the error code on BSOD. Now I started getting 0x7E error with no driver or file mentioned there :(
I spent two helpless nights trying to figure up n fix the problem but I have failed to fix the issue. I even repaired my windows installataion but that also failed to fix the problem :(

Now I am going to do a fresh installation today by formatting C:/ coz after yesterdays repair the system happens to got screwed more as I am not able to open task manager, see device manager settings and many more admin options even after being logged in from admin account !

Seriously windows sucks. They dont know what was the exact cause of error! They dont tell you what are the possible bugs beforehand! They dont tell you what caused the system to behave that way. What they just do is give you 4-5 different things which may have happened and its you who is supposed to figure it up now.

To hell MS!

I will and am going to contribute something for Open Source and Linux instead of working at MS now! Its no more a dream for me to work for MS, until and unless the philosphy changes at MS. It will be more sotthing for my conscience to work for IBM/SUN/GOOGLE as dream company. But one things for sure I will contribute in every way possible for everything thats related to GPL and OSF.

Tuesday, January 16, 2007

Relic

It seemed that degree was a relic. We came from all over in search of that piece of paper. Four years and we were through the most importnat phase of our lives. The most important from all perspectives, be it professional, emotional or personal. We all witnessed so many things and were part of a myriad happenings and events that criss crossed our lives. We all were through crests and troughs, sometimes alone sometimes together. We found ourselves surrounded by friends and foes and also found ourselves at times alone. This 4 year perios was a perfect example of a painting which was really colorful having all colors from dark to bright. The shades were perfect, sometimes dark n hard stokes sometimes subtle n soft strokes. They depicted harmony and cacophony at the same time in our lives.

It was painful parting ways in May 2006 after being together for 4 years. It was painful on this 15th January also. Which was more painful? I am not in a position to decide now. Maybe the May06 was more.

That feeling of waering cloaks n reaching up to the stage to recieve that degree was exciting and the enthusiasm was at its peak when we were all hustling each other in the group photograph. Everyone was pressing everyone and a wide smile ws on all's face.

Theres a lot which got buried with that convocation. A lot which will be buried deep in my heart. I wont let it go away but I will preserve all those memories. Relationships were forgotten and broken in those 7 months after May06 and people made new relationships. It was again happiness for some n distress for some. Which group I come is what I should keep upto myself. But those whjo know me and my writtings will be able to know which group I came in.

I am upto more writtings on convocation and college in days to come so keep hooked to read more.

Monday, January 08, 2007

Turn on the heat

When something starts a bit demanding and you feel the heat, it makes you restless. It happens at times when you start on a frenzied note, an endless search whichleads you nowhere but just leaves you in a maze. You are taken for a ride and the ride lands you in a place you seem so mesmerizing and painful. It mesmerizes you, for the simple reason that you feel everything new. It pains coz it was never real or was never the place for you.
When the count becomes a count for your life, you seem no where to hide from that crass countdown. You feel miserable and you feel like hiding yourself like an ostrich. You act foolish as you dont know how to act, how to face the situation or what are the apt words for this position! You just know nothing. You just start uttering gibberish and land yourself in a more hell like situation. More you start to fix it, more it starts falling apart. But you cant leave it that way! You cant risk your life, yes mind you its your life. Isnt it? You feel like having that bone of contention which leads you nowhere.
Somehow, I faced this situation constantly 24x7 for nearly 120 days or so. I became paranoid all the way. I became miserable as I cant concentrate, I cant sleep. I cant even walk with clear mind. I seemed lost.
Lost, is a paradigm. It is so because for you it may have different meaning. For me iot has different. For him.her it has different. When I say lost , I mean I am lost from my soul. I am lost in the woods, where I see no one and see no path at all.
I want peace and want sweetness. I want back those sweet little things and I dont want to share them with anyone.